Soon It Will be Father’s Day

To re-cap: I’m writing every day in June on my new play Slam. Slam is short for Samantha Lamb, and she is, she thinks, taking charge of her life. Talk about ironic. We make plans and God laughs his big belly ass off. How does it go? Read on….

Slam’s father is going to be in the play not as a ghost, but as if he could teleport back to the house, from the hospital where he’s being treated. That’s precisely what’s shaping this play, ie that Slam rarely leaves her house, but she schemes and talks a lot about taking action. Here’s one of the scenes with her dad.

SQUIRE
Why don’t you visit me?

SLAM
I’ll get there. In a minute.

SQUIRE
I’m wondering. You know, I’m laying up in my stinking hospital bed and wondering.

SLAM
Your bed stinks?

SQUIRE
Like piss from 1952.

SLAM
Tell the nurse.

SQUIRE
You think I haven’t done that? A man needs help sometimes. If you were there, I’d get another bed.

SLAM
I got you in that place. I made the calls and filled out the paperwork. Thank God you’re a veteran.

SQUIRE
Yeah. Thank God I’ve helped everybody out. Your mother said the same damn thing.

SLAM
Mom thanked God you kept the farm.

SQUIRE
And it’s the farm that killed her.

SLAM
Bullshit.

SQUIRE
WE reconciled. The farm killed her.

SLAM
I’ll have to muse on that one.

SQUIRE
Bobby visited.

SLAM
Yeah, ’cause I sent him.

SQUIRE
What’s that boy on?

SLAM
Glue. Meth. Everclear. Both.

SQUIRE
Not hairspray?

SLAM
They said quit drinking, Dad. They said stop your work. They said –

SQUIRE
Who’s THEY?!

SLAM
You burned two beds.

SQUIRE
I’ll quit smoking. I think I did already.

SLAM
You can’t come back.

SQUIRE
In my day, the real bad ones drank Sterno. Hairspray.

SLAM
You think Bobby’s like that?

SQUIRE
No. But he loves it to hang out with them that does, the ones that are risky and fun.

Leave a Reply

