Hi friends, Here’s a scene.  I don’t think it

Hi friends, 

Here’s a scene.  I don’t think it will make the play. It’s between Slam and Jonah, a townie who’s been an on-again, off-again buddy of Slam’s son Bobby.  Jonah is chunky, bookish, astute, the type who quietly points out faults and won’t veer from their truth.  He studied hard and built his high school career so that he will likely be at University of Chicago in the fall.  Slam has kept close tabs on Jonah; Jonah’s mother drank too much.  Jonah’s a black kid, quiet, tall.  I just love him. He’s the type you want to protect but believe me, Jonah needs no such protection.  So here’s the scene, second act of the play. (By the way, I think Slam’s jealous and wishes Bobby had at least a bit of Jonah’s ambition and smarts, Bobby likes to grin, duck, dodge and artfully hunt for the next party.)

 

SLAM
Jonah, you’ve done what you needed to do. You’re distant. You’ve kept back. You needed to do that. I know you. I. I. I know. OK?

JONAH
It’s –

SLAM
No, it’s not. Let me talk, all right? You’ve done what you had to. You’re a chunky kid and you’re not the same, and this damn sure is not the place.
                              (Uh-oh, she’s feeling emotional. So she twists it and just gets mean.)
And you’ve such a light. You know that? You’re steady. I watched you. You know how to hold your light. Who taught you that?

JONAH
My mother.

SLAM
You’ve got it in you. Your father, too.

                                      (Feeling another emotional surge, but squelching it)

OK, all right. this is allI’ve got to say. I’m going to say it. You just listen, Jonah. Comes a time when you’ll be where you can be your light. You can bring it out. You’ll see a window. Might be in Chicago. I don’t know.
But I know you’re leaving. And when you see that shot, when you know it’s time, don’t hesitate. OK? ‘Cause I know, I know, I know if you hold it in you’ll keep on breathing but you will die. Got me? All and well for what you’ve done, how you’ve kept up in Mason. It’s tough here, but you’ve been tougher. That’s fine for Mason. But don’t take it elsewhere. Right? You’ve known me. Right?

JONAH
You were there for me.

SLAM
Yes I was. And there are some things I know.

JONAH
OK.

SLAM
Your life.

JONAH
OK.

SLAM
I’m talking about your beauty, Jonah. And destiny, I don’t know. Don’t make me bring this up again.

JONAH
I won’t.

SLAM
‘Cause I don’t want to hear about you giving folks a hard time in Chicago.

JONAH
I’ll be studying.

SLAM
I can find out, you know. I got college connections.

JONAH
I’ll send you a sweatshirt.

SLAM
I’ll have it monogramed.

JONAH
I’ll be in Chicago.

SLAM
Just wait for it.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Slam Update: Big | Sheela Kangal

Leave a Reply

