30 Days of writing an Iowa play

Hello everyone. I am going to post each June day on my play “Slam,” a huge gift and a play about my Iowa. I was brought up in that magnificent, difficult state and by the way, it is not flat. Nothing bordering the Mississippi River can be described as flat. And I was born in Sioux City, Western Iowa, and brought up in Iowa City, Eastern, and one hour’s drive from the Big Muddy. The time was the 1970’s, when the Interstate had its allure, eight-track tapes rattled in front seats, and Richard Nixon was full of deep, haunting regrets. I spent time bike riding, reading the comics section from Ms. Magazine, and waiting by Highway 6 for my dad to arrive on one of his weekend visits. Pedals pumping, visuals from the page, anticipation that Dad can save the day. This is an Iowa/immigrant/feministic upbringing. Go Herky. Go Proctor and Gamble. Go John Irving. Peace.

Leave a Reply

